ironamy

Tales of triathlon, travel, and trails

Starting at the bottom!

2 Comments

After I ran the 100km in Sept, I did not run a single step (aside from when I couldn’t ride certain sections in cyclocross races) until Nov 1. It was a self-imposed running hiatus, I wasn’t injured or anything, I just really needed a break. I could feel it really deep down inside. I didn’t swim (this is not new!) and I only rode a couple times on the road but mostly on my cross bike for fun. I went back in the gym but for one reason or another I was never able to get any consistency but it’s something I really enjoy. I even snuck in a 10 day California cruise with my mom for her birthday. And then all of a sudden it’s Nov 30! Everyone else seems to be starting their off season but for me, I’m really to get started for 2017.

My mom and I on the cruise ship!

img_7693

Me and my mom in Avalon, Catalina Island

This has been the biggest, most intense break I’ve had since 2010 so it was well overdue. I am completely caught up in life, both personal and business, and that feels so good. I feel like everything is under control and in line so I can occupy myself with training now. During the spring and summer I typically feel like I’m right on the edge of losing control but I think I thrive in that sort of situation!

For the first time in 2 years I have decided to work with a coach again! It has taken me a long time to convince myself mentally to have a coach because although I do really enjoy the structure a coach provides, I really love the freedom to do what I want, when I want. I am not really results-driven and have no Kona aspirations. Triathlon is my hobby. I have a job that is stressful enough, I don’t need to add to my stress with things outside of work like triathlon. But I think I’ve found a fit in Michelle Barnes at TriSutto who can push me to discover some hidden (well-hidden!) potential and turn my weaknesses (ahem, cycling) into strengths while hopefully not overloading me. We start together Dec 1 for what I think will be a super fun and exciting 2017 season.

img_7369

Putzing around on fun trails during the awesome long fall we enjoyed this year. Also, the Betty Designs long sleeve skin suit is perfect for cyclocross!

I applied to the Norseman lottery this year for the first time. It took me 3 years to convince myself that I am tough enough to endure that race if I got selected. I still have a long way to go to be strong enough, especially on the bike which scares the crap out of me, but I think working with Michelle is a really good start and the beginning of hopefully a 2 year plan to Norseman (fingers already crossed for 2018!).

img_8145

Last ride outside before winter

For the first time since 2010, I am not registered for any 2017 races! It feels so weird. I have some ideas and thankfully now, most Ironmans don’t fill up right away so I have time to think and plan better! Mostly I want to become a stronger cyclist so I can run to my potential off the bike. I am really underperforming on both the bike and run and that needs to change!

Finally, I am so proud to be selected again for the 4th time (!!!!) to represent Betty Designs as a Team Betty 2017 ambassador. I love every thing about the brand and I always appreciate the cheers for “Go Betty!” on the race course and cheering the same. I love the bright colours and designs and the awesome #girlsquad that comes with being a Betty. Some of my best friends have come from this team and being surrounded by women with similar mindsets and interests makes triathlon more like a team sport rather than a solitary adventure.

img_8018

img_8076

All the bright colours!

So now it’s back to training for me, looking towards hopefully a faster, stronger 2017!

2 thoughts on “Starting at the bottom!

  1. We have so many similarities…I too am starting with a coach today after a 2 year self coaching gig, took a break from workouts since September 11, and am ready to get back to training while others are just starting their offseason! While you are pumped to be a Betty again, I am pumped to be a part of the Coeur team again in 2017 and have made so many awesome inspiring friends through this amazing company! Cheers to an awesome 2017 full of growing stronger and new adventures!!

    • Thanks for this, Kecia! It’s nice to know I’m not along because it’s brutal getting back! Excited to follow your journey in 2017! (You will love IMMT!)

Leave a Reply

