ironamy

Tales of triathlon, travel, and trails

What happened after IM Tahoe and plans for 2014

1 Comment

Has it really been like 3 months since my last post? I’ll have to do better in 2014! I think I will now that I’ve discovered the wordpress app…

After IM Tahoe, I was just tired. Physically and mentally. My recovery took longer than I was expecting it to. It took about 2 months until I was feeling pretty normal and like I could run comfortably at a decent pace. Running is my favourite discipline so all I wanted to do was run. I kept trying to run but my body kept telling me no. But it’s also hard for me to get quality runs done in the fall because I love to take pictures of all the beautiful fall colours.

20140108-194005.jpg

20140108-194132.jpg

I quickly decided after Tahoe I wasn’t going to swim until January. In the last 6 weeks or so before Tahoe I developed a strange reaction to chlorine such that if I even just smelled the chlorine on my bathing suit I would feel sick and nauseous (like dry heaving). And that was even worse in the water. I couldn’t finish sets and would have to get out of the water and stand up on the deck to try to get a fresh breath. Just walking into the gym and smelling the chlorine makes me cringe and makes my stomach upset. So now that it’s January it’s time to get back in the water but honestly, I’m still nervous about the smell.

And I’ve only done 1 outdoor ride and 1 trainer ride since Tahoe. Poor bikes!

20140108-194937.jpg

I had all this physical fatigue going on but the worst part was the mental fatigue. Tahoe really took a toll on me mentally. My first 2 Ironmans I crossed the finish line asking “when was the next race?! When can I start training again?” I couldn’t wait to get back out there. But at the Tahoe finish line my first thought was that I’m done with Ironman, that I am better at shorter distances, that I should stick to oly and 70.3, that I’m just not built to do Ironman. That was a really hard thought for me to have because I LOVE Ironman, I love the mental challenge of 140.6 and I LOVE to race. But those negative thoughts stuck with me for a long time and really wreaked havoc with my emotions.

Once the haze cleared I determined that: 1) I was most disappointed in my run. I’m a good runner but it doesn’t show in Ironman. 2) I love to run the most. So maybe this will be the start of my foray into ultras (I’ve done one 50k and I loved it). 3) But I’m not done with Ironman because I want a race where I actually RUN the marathon and where I keep my sh*t together and don’t fall apart. Once I came to these conclusions, I got my mojo back and was ready to go again! Yay!

In October I was supposed to run the Grand Canyon R2R2R which had been planned since May (but probably a good thing it fell through considering how I was feeling after Tahoe). But thanks to the US government shutdown, the Grand Canyon was closed and we couldn’t run. However I still had my flight booked to Phoenix so I instead spent the weekend running in Sedona and Phoenix and it was awesome.

20140109-164450.jpg

20140109-164521.jpg

20140109-164612.jpg

20140109-164641.jpg

In November I was in Victoria for a meeting and took advantage of the favourable weather to sneak in a few runs in the triathlon capital of Canada.

20140109-164849.jpg

Because meanwhile in Calgary, running looked like this:

20140109-164956.jpg

I ran one 10km race in the snow and ice in Calgary, which somehow was my second fastest 10km.

20140109-170031.jpg

Then 2 weeks later in LA I ran a PR at the Santa Monica Venice Christmas run (43:06). Next time I’m going for sub-43 and I’ll actually train for it!

20140109-170558.jpg

Which brings me to plans for 2014. So far my races are:
1. LA Marathon – to BQ (3:35, although for 2014 Boston the qualifying time was 3:33:22), training for 3:30. Last year at LAM I ran 3:36:01 which was a 70min PR, so those 6 minutes should be easy to drop, right?
2. Escape from Alcatraz – just a bucket list race, but I’m super pumped for it!
3. Boulder 70.3 – scoping out the scene for IM!
4. IM Boulder – I just want a good run!
Then hopefully some trail races and a 50k in the fall. And back to the Grand Canyon for R2R2R šŸ™‚

Looking forward to 2014!

One thought on “What happened after IM Tahoe and plans for 2014

  1. Wow, you are amazing! Very best wishes in qualifying for Boston, love the pics too!

Leave a Reply

